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PREAMBLE

THIS AGREEMENT is made and entered into this 29th day of April Two
Thousand and ten.

BETWEEN

THE BOARD OF EDUCATION OF THE BOROUGH OF
ROSELAND, ESSEX COUNTY, NEW JERSEY, hereinafter
The “BOARD”;

and

THE ROSELAND EDUCATION ASSOCIATION
hereinafter the “ASSOCIATION™;

WHEREAS, pursuant to the requirements of the New Jersey Employer-Employee Relations Act,
agreements reached between public employer and the majority representative of an appropriate
employee unit and filed with the New Jersey Public Employment Relations Commission; and

WHEREAS, the Roseland Board of Education recognizes the Roseland Education Association as
being the recognized majority representative of the unit of the Board’s employees consisting of
regularly employed teachers, nurses, librarians, and custodians,

NOW, THEREFORE, the Board and the Association have mutually agreed to the following
terms and conditions of employment.

When used hereinafter, the term “teacher” shall mean all certificated members of the unit, the
term “custodian” shall mean custodians only, and the term “employee” shall mean all members
of the unit.

Article | — Duration of Agreement

This Agreement, dated as above, shall take effect on July 1, 2009 and shall continue in full force
and effect until June 30, 2012. The Parties agree that except in the case of any mutually agreed
upon amendments hereto which shall be embodied in writing and signed by the Parties, this
Agreement represents the full and total agreement between the Parties on all matters which were,
and could have been, negotiated by the Parties.



Article Il — Compensation

1.

SALARIES

A

Teachers: The salary schedules for teachers shall be as set forth on Schedule “A”,
Schedule “B” and Schedule “C” annexed hereto and made a part hereof.

The following percentage increases will be applied to the agreed-upon salary base
of $3,227,520 and are inclusive of increments:

e Effective 7/1/09: 3.5% (retroactive)
e Effective 7/1/10: 3.5%
e Effective 7/1/11: 3.5%

Advancement on the schedules is not automatic and is dependent upon a favorable
recommendation by the Superintendent and Board of Education approval.

Effective July 1, 1995, academic credit for advanced level placement beyond the
MA column shall be based only on approved graduate degree credits obtained
after attainment of the Masters degree. Teachers matriculated in Board approved
Masters Degree program on July 1, 1995, shall be granted exemption from this
requirement.

Teachers shall be notified of their contract and salary status for the ensuing year
no later than May 15"

Custodians: Custodians must, as a condition of employment, possess a valid
Black Seal Boiler Operator License. The Board reserves the right to waive this
requirement and allow the employee time to obtain the license. During this
extended period of time the employee shall remain at his/her entry level eligible
for salary adjustment but not salary increment.

The following percentage increases will be applied to the agreed-upon salary base
of $3,227,520 and are inclusive of increments:

e Effective 7/1/09: 3.5% (retroactive)
e Effective 7/1/10: 3.5% plus $500 per custodian
e Effective 7/1/11: 3.5% plus $500 per custodian

The minimum starting salary for a new full time custodian shall be $30,000 per
year. The board has the discretion to pay a new custodian in excess of this
minimum starting salary.

The head custodian shall receive an annual stipend of $1,800.00. Said stipend
shall be off the established guide.



Any custodian holding a Black Seal License shall receive an annual stipend of
$250.

PAYMENT OF SALARIES

A.

Ten-month employees shall be paid in twenty (20) equal payments on the 15" and
last day of each month during the school year.

Twelve-month employees shall be paid in twenty-four (24) equal payments on the
15™ and last day of each month during the year.

Each teacher may individually elect to have ten percent (10%) of his/her monthly
salary deducted and placed in a personal interest-bearing account in a bank of the
Board’s choosing.

Whenever the 15" day of and/or the last day of the month falls on/or during a
school holiday, vacation, weekend, or Bank Holiday, employees shall receive
payments on the last previous working date provided such an accommodation is
administratively possible. Employees shall be notified one week in advance
regarding any changes in this procedure.

The Board agrees to deduct from the salaries of its employees’ dues for the
Roseland Education Association, the Essex County Education Association, the
New Jersey Education Association, and National Education Association as said
employees individually and voluntarily authorize the Board to deduct. Such
deductions shall be made in compliance with Chapter 233, N.J. Public Laws of
1969 (N.J.S.A. 52:14-15.9¢) and under rules established by the State Department
of Education. Said moneys, together with current records of any corrections, shall
be transmitted to such person as designated by the Association by the 15" of each
month following the monthly pay period in which deductions were made. The
person designated shall disburse such moneys to the appropriate Association or
Associations.

1. Each of the Associations named above shall certify to the Board, in
writing, the current rate of its membership dues. Any Association which
shall change the rate of its membership dues shall give the Board written
notice prior to the effective date of such change.

2. Representation Fee

If an employee does not become a member of the Association during any
membership year (i.e. from September 1 to the following August 31)
which is covered in whole or in part by the Agreement, said employees
will be required to pay a representation fee to the Association for that
membership year. This fee shall not exceed 85% of the Association’s



regular membership dues and shall be determined by NJEA in accordance
with the Association’s filing of the annual LAFAP report.

The Association shall indemnify and hold the employer harmless against
any and all claims, demands, suits and other forms of liability, including
liability for court expenses that may arise out of, or by reason of any
action taken by the employer in conforming with this provision. Dues
shall be transmitted electronically, if payroll provider maintains capability
on a monthly basis.

F. Part-time teachers whose work schedule will cause them to be not present on a
scheduled pay day may, upon request, receive payment on their last working day
immediately prior to a scheduled pay day provided it is administratively possible
to do so.

SICK LEAVE REIMBURSEMENT

Any employee who during the term of this Agreement permanently ceases employment
in the Roseland School District due to retirement shall receive a lump sum payment of
Sixty ($60.00) Dollars, in the first year of the contract, Sixty-two ($62.00) Dollars in the
second year of the contract and Sixty-four ($64.00) Dollars in the third year of the
contract, for each day of accumulated unused sick leave up to a maximum of 185 days.

At the discretion of the recipient, payment maybe delayed until January 15 or thereabouts
of the year after retirement. Should an employee eligible to receive this benefit die while
actively employed, payment should be made to the employee’s estate.

OTHER COMPENSATION

A. Travel: Employees shall be paid at the Internal Revenue Service (IRS) rate for
the use of their car in the performance of their duties with prior approval of the
appropriate administrator.

B. Lunch-Time Supervisor: Teachers supervising lunch-time cafeteria for the full
year shall be compensated at the rate of $2,500 per school year.

C. Curriculum Writing: Teachers who are approved to write curriculums will be
compensated:

2009-10 $51.00/hour
2010-11 $53.00/hour
2011-12 $55.00/hour

The number of hours required to write the curriculum will be predetermined by
the Superintendent of Schools.



Presentations: Teachers required to make a presentation at a Board meeting or
kindergarten orientation if scheduled in the evening shall receive one (1) hour
compensation at the curriculum rate established for that year. Compensation shall
be limited to one (1) hour.

Extracurricular Activities (Owl’s Eye & Student Council): Teachers who
moderate the OwlI’s Eye or Student Council shall receive the following stipends:

Owl’s Eye $2,000
Student Council $2,000
Head Custodian $1,800
Black Seal $ 250

If the extracurricular positions are shared by more than one person the annual
stipend shall be divided among the individuals assigned to the position.

Both parties seek a salary guide which compensates staff as equitably as possible. In this
contract, we have developed guides which replace major differences in the increment pattern. It
is our mutual intention to continue to improve the salary guide structure by attempting to reduce
major differences in the increment pattern in the future.

Article 111 — Medical and Dental Benefits

A.

The Board hereby agrees to pay 100% of the group rate cost for medical coverage
through the School Employee Health Benefits Program (SEHBP) or its equivalent
for family plan for all employees under contract in Association’s unit.

Prescription: The Board agrees to pay 100% of the group rate cost for providing a
prescription plan comparable to present coverage. This coverage extends to
individual or family coverage. The plan requires the employee co-pay for brand
prescriptions of $10.00 and $3.00 for generic prescriptions.

Dental: The Board agrees to pay 100% of the group rate for individual or family
coverage after being employed for 3 years. Prior to the 3 years of employment,
the Board agrees to pay 100% of the group rate for single coverage. Employees
with 3 years or less employment may pay for family coverage through payroll
deduction.



Up to twenty-five percent (25%) of employees eligible for medical

coverage (first come, first served) may waive said coverage in return for a lump-
sum payment. Waiver by an employee who is eligible for employee-only
coverage shall be entitled to a lump sum payment of $5,000 for the waived
medical coverage. Employees eligible for full-family coverage, after three (3)
years of employment, will receive a lump sum payment of $5,000 for the waived
medical coverage. Employees selecting to waive coverage shall receive this
payment simultaneous with their last paycheck.

Employees who waive coverage and subsequently discover that their alternate
coverage is no longer available may return to the plan for any of the following
reasons:

death of spouse
disability of spouse
divorce

legal separation

loss of employment change of employment resulting in ineligibility for benefits
If an employee is reinstated to coverage under the plan for any of the above
reasons, the appropriate proportional share of payment for the waiver will not be

made.

A spouse’s loss or reduction in benefits in the same position is not a reason for
automatic return to the plan.

The Board shall establish an Internal Revenue Service §125 plan for making
medical and dental contributions.



ARTICLE IV — Grievance Procedure

A. STATEMENT OF PURPOSE

1.

It is the purpose of this procedure to secure, at the lowest possible administrative
level, appropriate solutions to grievances of employees through pre-determined
and orderly procedures without threat of reprisal.

Any individual member or group of the staff shall have the right to appeal
(through administrative channels) the application of policies and administrative
decision affecting him/her. With respect to his/her personal grievances he/she
shall be assured freedom from interference, coercion, discrimination, or reprisal in
presenting his/her appeal. The person or persons involved shall have the right to
present their own appeal or designate representatives of the Roseland Education
Association or another person of their own choosing to appeal with them in any
step in their appeal. Both parties agree that these procedures would be as
informal and confidential as may be appropriate at all levels of the proceedings.

B. DEFINITION OF TERMS

1.

4.

GRIEVANCE - A “grievance” is a claim by an employee based upon the
interpretation, application or violation of this Agreement, policies or
administrative decisions. However, the term “grievance” shall not apply to any
matter for which (a) a method of review is prescribed by law or State Board Rule,
or wherein (b) the Board of Education is without authority to act, or where (c) a
complaint relates to the nonrenewal or termination on notice of a non-tenure
employee’s contract.

EMPLOYEE - Said term shall include any regularly employed individual
whether full or part-time, receiving compensation from the Board.

IMMEDIATE SUPERIOR - Said term shall mean the person to whom the
grieved employee is directly responsible under the organizational scheme
prevailing in this School District at the time that any grievance occurs.

AGGRIEVED PERSON - The person or persons making the claim.

C. PROCEDURE

1.

TIME LIMITS — Any employee who has a grievance shall discuss it within ten
(10) school days of its occurrence with his/her immediate superior in an attempt
to resolve the matter informally at that level.



2. If, as a result of the informal appeal, the matter is not resolved to the satisfaction
of the employee within five (5) school days, he shall set forth this claim in
writing, giving date and specific details of the grievance, to the immediate
superior. The immediate superior shall communicate his/her decision to the
employee in writing within five (5) school days of receipt of the written claim.
Failure to petition within the said five (5) school days shall be deemed to
constitute an abandonment of the grievance and an assent to the immediate
superior’s determination.

3. The employee may appeal the immediate superior’s decision to the
Superintendent. This appeal must be made in writing and must set forth the date
and grounds upon which the grievance is based. The Superintendent shall request
a written report on the grievance from the immediate superior. The
Superintendent shall attempt to resolve the matter as quickly as possible but
within a period not to exceed ten (10) school days. The Superintendent shall
communicate his/her decision in writing along with supporting reasons to the
employee and the immediate superior.

4, If the grievance is not resolved to the employee’s satisfaction by the
Superintendent, the grievant may request a review by the Board of Education.
The request shall be submitted within fifteen (15) days in writing through the
Superintendent who shall attach all related papers and forward the request to the
Board of Education. The Board shall review the grievance, hold a hearing with
the employee, if requested. The grievant may be accompanied at the hearing with
a representative. The Board of Education shall render a decision in writing within
fifteen (15) days of the conclusion of the hearings.

5. If the aggrieved person is not satisfied with the disposition of his or her grievance
by the Board, or if no decision has been rendered within fifteen (15) school days
after it was delivered to the Board, the Association is to decide whether the
grievance is to proceed to arbitration in which case the matter shall be submitted
to the New Jersey Public Employment Relations Commission within fifteen (15)
school days of the Board’s decision or decision date.

The Board and the Association shall agree upon a mutually acceptable arbitrator from a
list of arbitrators submitted by the Public Employment Relations Commission.

The decision of the arbitrator shall be advisory in all cases except in matters of grievance
of disciplinary action in which case the decision of the arbitrator shall be binding.
Grievances of disciplinary action may proceed to binding arbitration in accordance with
the provisions of applicable law. The Board of Education retains the option of
petitioning the Public Employment Relations Commission for a Scope of Negotiations
Determination of the issue of grievance.



Article V — Days and Hours of Work

A.

The days worked shall be based on the teachers’ school calendar as adopted by the Board
of Education for the 2009-2010, 2010-2011, 2011-2012 school years. The Roseland
Board of Education agrees to return up to two of the unused emergency days built into
the school calendar. No teacher shall be required to report to duty earlier than twenty
(20) minutes before the opening of the pupil’s school day, nor required to clock in or out
by hours and minutes. Teachers shall indicate their presence for duty by placing initials
in the sign-in roster.

The scheduled workday for teachers shall be 8:30 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. and the student day
shall be 8:50 a.m. to 3:20 p.m. For kindergarten teachers, the scheduled workday for the
months of September through December shall be 8:30 a.m. to 1:40 p.m. and the student
day shall be 8:50 a.m. to 1:00 p.m. For kindergarten teachers, the scheduled workday for
the months of January through June shall be 8:30 a.m. to 3:45 p.m. and the student day
shall be 8:50 a.m. to 3:20 p.m.

Teachers shall remain in school as specified in this paragraph, except that they may be
permitted to leave at 3:25 p.m. in the following circumstances:

On Fridays;

On days preceding holidays and/or extended recess periods;

On the day of back-to-school night;

On the day of the monthly Roseland Education Association afternoon
meeting, provided they are not meeting with a parent or child, in which
case they shall continue to do so.

MPwnh e

Those teachers who have scheduled bus duties are required to perform those bus duties
on any of the days in the above four exceptions.

Teachers shall have a daily fifty (50) minute duty-free lunch period except on days of
inclement weather when the teacher will return to the classroom to cover his/her class’
play period. (Inclement weather to be determined by the building principal, or designee).
Teachers are to inform the principal or office when leaving the building during school
time including the lunch period.

1. Teachers’ schedules shall provide preparation time in the amount of 250
minutes per five day week for regular full-time teachers of grades 3 through 6;
165 minutes per five day week for regular full-time teachers of grades 1 through
2; 115 minutes per five day week for regular kindergarten teachers; 150 minutes
per five day week for specials teachers working a full-time schedule; and a pro
rata share of 150 minutes per week for specials teachers working no less than a
90% work schedule. Regular classroom teachers shall provide student instruction
in the absence of the specialist schedules to cover the class during the classroom
teacher’s preparation period.
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Teachers having more preparation time than the contracted allowances can be
assigned to additional duties by administration between 8:30 a.m. and 3:45 p.m.

Preparation time for full-time regular and specials teachers shall be scheduled
between 8:50 a.m. and 3:20 p.m. Preparation time for kindergarten teachers
during the months of September through December shall be scheduled between
8:50 a.m. and 1:40 p.m. Preparation time for specials teachers working a flex
time schedule shall be scheduled during the hours of their regularly scheduled
workday.

Preparation time shall be used for such activities as:

Correcting papers;

Preparing lesson plans;

Preparing bulletin boards and other displays

Previewing audiovisual aids;

Professional reading

Preparation of report card,;

Preparation of non-administrative reports;

Conference with parents, administrators, and other personnel;
Duplicating or securing materials for class use; and

Other such activities as can be directly related to the welfare of the
students or the functioning of the school

—mSQ@ e o0 o

Unless otherwise assigned to bus duty, teachers will utilize the preparation time
scheduled from 3:20 p.m. to 3:45 p.m. for the following activities:

a. Cross-grade conferencing
b. Meeting with students;

C. Meeting or communicating with parents;

d. Meeting with the principal and/or administrator

If there is no need or opportunity to participate in the above mentioned activities,
Then teachers should utilize preparation time pursuant to subparagraph D4.

Weekly guaranteed preparation time shall be scheduled in blocks of no less than
thirty (30) minutes.

Required loss of a preparation period (except for such instances as a shortened
day, assembly, field trips, etc.) shall be paid at the rate of fifteen dollars ($15.00)
per period, provided the staff member’s weekly guaranteed preparation time as set
forth in Article V, D.1, is reduced below its minimum. Vouchers are to be
submitted for this payment on the first day of each month.
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Whenever possible, the notice of an agenda for any teacher’s meeting shall be given to
the teacher by the Friday preceding the meeting. Teachers shall have the opportunity to
suggest items for agenda.

Teachers are expected to devote the time necessary to meet their responsibilities to
provide quality education for the children in the School District, which includes for
example, careful daily preparation, attendance at staff meetings, grade level meetings and
conference meetings, and are encouraged to attend H.S.A. meetings and school sponsored
projects. This does not include programs by outside organizations which have been given
permission to use the school.

Teachers who are requested by the Board to make presentations at public Board meetings
shall be granted two (2) consecutive hours of preparation time during working hours prior
to the meeting date for preparation of the requested presentation and an informal outline
of the presentation which is to be submitted to the Board one week prior to the scheduled
meeting. The two hours granted shall be in addition to any existing scheduled
preparation time. Certificated substitutes shall be provided where necessary.

Any in-service professional development workshop scheduled after school shall not
exceed one and one-half (1 %2) hours. Any in-service, professional development
workshop that exceeds 1 % hrs. will be scheduled for a minimum student day. There is a
limit of 2 minimum student days for the school year. These hours count toward the 9
hours of Professional Development that are required after school. If staff acquires more
than an average of 20 hours in one year, those hours can apply to the following year.
These hours are those arranged by the Professional Development Committee.

CUSTODIANS

1. Each day custodian is to work eight (8) hours, exclusive of lunch hour, per day,
five (5) days per week. The night custodian is to work eight (8) hours, including
dinner hour, to compensate for night shift assignment. Custodians shall indicate
their presence for duty by placing their initials in the sign-in roster immediately
upon arriving to assume their duties. This procedure is also to be followed at the
conclusion of each work day.

2. Work performed in excess of eight (8) hours in one day is to be paid at a rate of
time-and-one half. Work performed on Sunday and holidays is to be paid at the
rate of double time.

Weekend and holiday building check is performed by custodians on a rotating
basis at a remuneration of time-and-one-half for one hour.

For those custodians performing building check whose residence is more than five

(5) miles from the school, an additional remuneration of time-and-one-half for
one half hour shall be paid.
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3. The Board and Association recognize the Board’s right to require that one
custodian be present at all times between the hours of 7:45 a.m. and 6:00 p.m. on
days when school is in session. In the event that by reason of absence of one or
more of the custodians, there is only one custodian on duty on a given day, the
Superintendent or building principal may require that the custodian on duty not
leave the school building during his/her lunch hour. However, unless the
custodian is required by the principal or his/her secretary to perform services of
an emergency nature, any lunch hour during which a custodian is required to
remain in his/her building under the provisions of this Paragraph shall not entitle
him/her to the payment of overtime compensation under the provisions of 1.2.
above. In the event that a custodian is required to perform service of an
emergency nature during such a lunch hour, either his/her lunch hour will be
extended by the amount of tie spent in dealing with the emergency or he/she will
be compensated at the overtime rate for the time spent in dealing with such
emergency, in the principal’s discretion. In all cases, the custodian shall,
immediately upon completing such services, report to the building principal, or, in
his/her absence, his/her secretary, the amount of time spent by the custodian in
performing such services. Nothing contained in this Paragraph shall be construed
S0 as to permit a custodian to voluntarily work through his/her lunch period on
matters of a non-emergency nature and thereby entitle him/her to overtime
compensation for that hour in the absence of a direction from the principal or
his/her secretary.

Article VI — Work Year

A.

TEACHERS - The in-school work year shall include days when pupils are in attendance,
orientation days, and any other days on which teachers’ attendance is required. Teachers
new to the district shall have one (1) additional day of orientation which shall
immediately precede the work year for pre-existing professional staff.

The work year shall be one hundred eight-six (186) days for returning teachers, one
hundred eighty-seven (187) days for newly hired teachers and one hundred eighty-three
(183) days for students, plus an additional nine (9) hours of professional development
time. The last scheduled day in June shall be reduced for teachers by three (3) hours.
Teachers must conclude the check out procedure in order to leave. The last student days
before Thanksgiving and Christmas recesses shall be four hours each.

CUSTODIANS
1. All custodians shall be eligible for a vacation according to the following:
a. Two weeks vacation (10) days will be granted during each of the

first five (5) years of employment.

b. After five (5) years of employment in the Roseland School System,
three (3) weeks paid vacation will be granted.
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C. After ten (10) years of employment in the Roseland School System, four
(4) weeks paid vacation will be granted.

d. After ten (10) years of employment in the Roseland School System, two
(2) additional vacation days will be added for every five (5) years of
service.

e. Custodians must take one (1) week vacation consecutively or in days

when school is closed for holiday during the school year. Once (1) week
must be taken when school is closed for summer vacation. Additional
accrued vacation time can be taken at the custodian’s discretion providing
three weeks notice for vacation is given to the school principal.

All custodians are entitled to twelve (12) paid holidays each year except when
Yom Kippur and Rosh Hashanah should fall on a school day. Then those days
shall be additional holidays.

July 4 Thanksgiving

Labor Day Christmas Day

Rosh Hashanah New Year’s Day

Yom Kippur Lincoln’s Birthday
Columbus Day Washington’s Birthday
Election Day Good Friday

Veterans Day Memorial Day

If any of the aforementioned holidays fall on a day when school is in session, a
lieu day will be granted in accordance with the school calendar.

Upon submission of a request and with prior approval of the Superintendent, two
custodians per year will each be granted one (1) Professional Day to attend NJEA
Convention. Upon return, a documentation of attendance is necessary.

Article VII — Sick Leave and Personal Days

A PERSONAL ILLNESS

1.

Ten days of absence for ten-month employees and twelve days for twelve-month
employees will be allotted for personal illness. Part-time employees shall be
granted absence with pay for illness on a pro-rata basis of number of days
employed for the year as compared to full-time employees. Entitlement of sick
days for all new employees shall be on a pro-rata basis according to their time of
hire. Entitlement shall accrue upon first day of employment each year.

If less than the allotted days for sick leave is used during the school year, the
balance is to be accumulated without limitation for use in subsequent years.
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In cases of absence beyond the accumulated sick leave time, a deduction of
1/200™ of the annual salary for ten-month employees for each day of absence will
be made. In cases of absence beyond the accumulated sick leave time a deduction
of 1/240™ of the annual salary for twelve-month employees for each day of
absence will be made. The Board of Education, at its discretion, may make an
exception to this rule.

At the start of each school year, all employees are to receive notification of their
accumulated sick leave.

Within one day of returning to work after an absence, a “Staff Absent Report”
form (agreed to by both Parties) shall be completed by the employee and
submitted to the building principal. The required form shall be placed in the
employee’s box prior to his/her return.

A medical certificate is required when a staff member has been absent five (5) or
more consecutive days.

PERSONAL LEAVE OTHER THAN ILLNESS

This policy shall cover brief absences not chargeable to sick leave or for professional
reasons directly beneficial to the school system. The provisions for leave at full pay
stated below shall be for one year, and no unused days shall be accumulative for use in
another year, except as provided in Paragraph B.2.

1.

DEATH/RELIGIOUS - An allowance of up to six (6) days total leave per year
shall be granted. Up to six (6) days may be used for a death in the immediate
family (spouse, father, mother, child, grandchild, grandparent, brother, sister,
step-mother, step-child, step-father or any member of the immediate household.)
Up to three (3) days out of the six (6) total days may be used for attendance at
funerals other than immediate family and religious holidays.

OTHER EMERGENCIES OF PERSONAL NATURE .An allowance of up to a
total of three (3) days leave during the school year. All employees are required to
give at least forty-eight (48) hours notice unless it is impossible to do so. Personal
leave shall not be taken on the day immediately preceding or following a holiday
or vacation period if the days are being used to extend the vacation. However, if
an employee needs to use a personal day during the above cited period, he or she
shall provide the Superintendent in writing with the reason for such request for
approval with pay. If at the end of the school year any of the three (3) leave days
of a personal nature remain unused, they shall be accumulated as sick days for use
in the next school year.
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3. COMPASSIONATE LEAVE - no more than five (5) days may be accumulated.
These days are to be used for immediate family appointments (medical) or other
immediate family emergency. Upon request, Compassionate Leave days can
revert back to sick pool.

4. PROFESSIONAL DEVELOPMENT - The Superintendent may grant such time,
up to one day per instance, for professional development of staff personnel.

Leave days under this Article shall only be granted for a full working day.

C. EXTENDED LEAVES OF ABSENCE-MATERNITY/CHILD CARE

1 DEFINITION OF LEAVES

a.

Maternity Leave shall be defined as that period of time during a pregnancy
in which the woman is disabled. With a standard physician’s certificate of
disability due to pregnancy, a staff member shall be entitled to be off the
twenty working days immediately preceding and the twenty working days
immediately following the anticipated date of birth. These days may
include school holidays or recess periods where applicable, but do not
include periods during the summer vacation. The staff member may be
paid for these days, provided she has sufficient annual and/or accumulated
sick days.

If a pregnant staff member incurs disability which exceeds the norm
referred to in the prior paragraph, she may obtain a special doctor’s
certification, explaining the medical necessity for additional days of
absence. Upon provision of such a certificate, the staff member may be
paid for these additional days provided she has sufficient annual and/or
accumulated sick days.

CHILD CARE LEAVE - Application for child leave for the purpose of
caring for a natural or adopted child shall be considered by the Board of
Education up to a 2 year leave. Employee has the option not to take the
second year of the leave. However, they are responsible to inform the
Superintendent in writing of their decision by April of the preceding second
year.

2. APPLICATION FOR LEAVES

a.

MATERITY LEAVE - Application shall be made in writing to the
Superintendent. Such application shall contain the desired dates for
beginning and terminating the leave in accordance with Section 4.

CHILD CARE LEAVE - Application shall be made in writing to the
Superintendent. Such application shall contain the reason for requesting
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the leave and supporting information regarding the necessity of having the
leave. Application for child care leave shall be considered by the Board of
Education on an individual basis.

3. CONDITIONS OF LEAVE

a. MATERNITY LEAVE - Notification — An employee of the Board of
Education shall notify the Superintendent as soon as she is pregnant,

presenting medical certification of her conditions and estimated date of
birth.

PAYMENT - Maternity leaves shall be granted without pay or increment.

MEDICAL CERTIFICATION — An employee who continues to work
beyond her seventh month of pregnancy must present a certificate of
physical fitness from her physician, including the estimated date of birth
for the child and the date to which the employee is capable of safely
performing her duties.

b. CHILD CARE LEAVE

NOTIFICATION — An employee of the Board shall notify the
Superintendent as soon as a need for this leave is evident.

PAYMENT - If child care leave is granted, it will be without pay or
increment.

C. NON-TENURE EMPLOYEE - Leaves for non-tenure employees under
this Article need only be granted to the end of the contract year.

4. DURATION OF LEAVES

After the employee presents application for either/or both leaves under this
Article, mutual agreement shall then be reached with the Superintendent,
in writing, on the date of beginning the leave and the date of the
employee’s return.

The dates beginning the leave may be determined mutually with the
Superintendent according to the mother’s needs, in the case of maternity
leave. In the case of an employee who adopts a child for whom the
employee will have direct and major responsibility for rearing, child care
leave may be granted upon receiving defacto custody of the child or earlier
if necessary in order to fulfill the requirements for adoption.
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S. APPLICATION FOR EARLY RETURN

If unusual conditions prevail, the employee may apply, on
recommendation of the Superintendent, with a doctor’s written approval,
to the Board, for permission to return to a position for which the employee
qualifies, prior to the termination of the period for which leave was
granted. It is understood, however, that the Board in its discretion may or
may not grant permission for change of the original agreed upon term of
the leave.

Applicability of State and Federal Family Leave Acts

Employees covered by this Agreement are eligible for leaves of absence under the
provisions of the New Jersey Family Leave Act and the Federal Family and
Medical Leave Act. These leaves are without pay unless the employees have paid
days available to them under other provisions of this Article applicable to these
statutes.

The Board may grant a leave of absence without compensation in accordance with Board
Policy 4431.

Teachers returning in September from leave of absence (Policy No. 4431) or Family
Leave, Maternity Leave, shall inform the Board of Education in writing of their
intentions to return by April 15™.

Article V111 — Employee and Association Rights

A.

Whenever any teacher is required to appear before the Board or any committee or
member thereof concerning any matter which could adversely affect the continuation of
the teacher in his/her office, position or employment or the salary of any increment
pertaining thereto, then he/she shall be given prior written notice of the reasons for such
meeting or interview and shall have the right to present his/her own appeal or designate
representatives of his/her own choosing to appear with him/her.

The Association and its representatives shall have the right to use school building for
meetings at hours when custodians are normally on duty. The amount of time used by a
custodian to attend an Association meeting during his/her regular work day is to be made
up on said day. The principal shall be notified at least 24 hours in advance of the time
and place of all such meetings.

The Association shall have the right to use school mailboxes as it deems necessary. The
Association shall have the right to use copy machines after gaining the approval of
building principals or other members of the administration. Approval shall not be
unreasonably withheld.
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The Association shall have use of a bulletin board in the faculty room and the custodial
room. The Association shall also be assigned adequate space on the bulletin board in the
Central Office for Association notices. The location of Association bulletin boards in
each room shall be designated by the Association. Copies of all materials to be posted on
such bulletin boards shall be given to the building principal, but no approval shall be
required.

Regarding any matter which would adversely affect the continuation of a custodian in
employment, position or salary, or an increment pertaining thereto, the custodian shall be
given prior written notice of the reasons for such action and opportunity for hearing
before the action is final.

Nothing contained herein shall be construed to deny or restrict any custodian from such
rights as may exist under the laws of the State of New Jersey. The rights granted to
custodians hereunder shall be deemed to be in addition to those provided by law.

Article I X — Tuition Reimbursement for Advanced Study

A.

ELIGIBILITY — Any teacher employed in the Roseland School System and enrolled at
an accredited institution for the purpose of graduate study in the field of education.

APPROVAL - All courses and programs for advance study to be reimbursed under this
policy must have prior approval of the Superintendent.

REIMBURSEMENT DEFINED - Reimbursement shall be for the cost of tuition and
registration fees to a maximum based upon tuition and registration fees at Montclair State
University. There is a new maximum each year (refer to following chart) per individual
full-time faculty member. A part-time faculty member’s allowance shall be prorated
according to the same formula of his/her salary, e.g. a part-time teacher receiving 3/5’s
full salary shall receive a maximum allowance of $900. Under the provisions of this
Article, a part-time teacher employed five (5) days per week at a minimum of twenty (20)
hours shall be considered full-time. Regarding the total amount of monies from which
reimbursement may be drawn for each fiscal school year please refer to the following
chart. Faculty members taking courses to comply with the provisions of Article IX,
Paragraph E4, shall be given preference in allocating these funds. No reimbursement
shall be made for the cost of books.

The pool will consist of $20,000 per year.
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REQUIREMENT - Teachers shall receive reimbursement contingent upon the following
conditions:

1.

Proof of satisfactory completion of approved course with “B” or better; and

2. Proof of tuition payment must be submitted to the school’s Superintendent within
the school’s fiscal year and must be submitted immediately after the completion
of each course.

GENERAL

1. Courses taken for certification shall be eligible for reimbursement.

2. Undergraduate courses shall not be eligible for reimbursement except in those
instances where no graduate courses are offered within a reasonable distance.

3. Courses shall be taken at a time that does not conflict with school duties or hours.

4. The Board of Education may request teachers who have not earned a Masters

Degree or equivalency (BA+30) to successfully complete graduate courses
amounting to at least 6 credits over a 3 year period.

TIME AND MANNER OF REIMBURSEMENT

The tuition reimbursement program shall operate in a manner consistent with the School
District’s fiscal year of July 1 through June 30. All courses taken during the summer, fall,
and spring semesters (final grade must be in by June 5) shall be submitted and approved
prior to the commencement of the course. Evidence of satisfactory completion of the
course should be submitted as soon as available. Upon receipt of evidence of successful
completion from all teachers taking approved courses during the spring semester, the
Board will reimburse all teachers simultaneously in accordance with the above program.
If the total number of approved courses and/or other professional development
opportunities, as contained in the teacher’s P.I.P. exceeds the pool, then each teacher will
be reimbursed the equivalent pro-rata cost per credit completed, up to the individual
maximum of the pool. In no event shall the total annual reimbursement exceed the pool.

The Board shall reimburse custodians for the fee and/or renewal of boiler licenses.
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Article X — Work Clothes

A. The Board shall provide each custodian with five (5) uniforms and summer tee shirts per
year. Custodians shall be responsible for cleaning and care of the uniforms. Custodians
are expected to wear the uniforms each work day. The Board shall provide two (2) pair
of work shoes each year. The Superintendent, at his/her discretion, may authorize a third
pair as need requires.

B. Two sets of rain gear have been purchased for the building. Said gear is to remain the
property of the Roseland Board of Education and shall be replaced as needed.

C. A winter jacket will be furnished each custodian in the first year of employment and
every third year thereafter.

D. Two pair of work gloves will be furnished each custodian, if needed, each year.
E. As needed, one pair of foul weather boots will be furnished each custodian every three
years.

Article XI — Professional Improvement

In accordance with N.J.A.C. 6:11-13, the Association and the Board pledge to cooperate through
the local district professional development committee in forming the district professional
development program in accordance with the standards established by the State Professional
Teaching Standards Board and Commissioner of Education.

The Board shall provide in-service professional improvement programs which shall be
cooperatively planned to meet priorities jointly determined by the Association and the
administration. Professional development programs shall be conducted after school hours and
shall not exceed nine (9) hours per year as outlined previously under Article VI, subparagraph A.

In the event that the Board and Association mutually agree upon an accredited professional
development program, teachers who successfully complete same shall be given credit as
provided in the salary schedule.

When necessary for professional improvement a teacher, with prior approval from the
Superintendent, may attend an appropriate workshop or seminar. Upon evidence of completion
of the workshop or seminar, the teacher will be reimbursed the registration fee.

Mentoring of Provisional and Alternate Route Teachers

1. All vacancies for mentoring positions shall be posted as early as the district is
aware of its needs. The postings shall include the qualifications for the position.

2. No teacher shall be assigned to serve as a mentor if there are qualified volunteers
available.
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3. Only tenured teachers shall serve as mentors.

4, Those teachers acting as mentors for individuals obtaining certification via the
alternate route shall receive the amount provided for by state funding.

5. Those teachers acting as mentors for individuals obtaining certification via the
provisional route shall receive the amount provided for by state funding.

Article X1l Employee Evaluation

A. Employees have the right to adequate and constructive supervision by the appropriate
administrator.

B. Employees must be punctual and responsible to their assignment throughout the year and,
when they are not, they are to be notified by their immediate supervisor.

C. Employee performance shall be evaluated in the light of all evidence pertinent to the
discharge of their responsibilities.

D. Procedure for evaluation for employees shall be as specified by applicable law and
Commissioner of Education regulations.

Article X111 — Reassignments

A No later than May 1 of each school year, the Superintendent shall post a list of official
vacancies expected to occur during the following school year.

B. Teachers who desire a change in grade and/or subject assignment may file a written
statement of such desire with the Superintendent no later than May 15.

C. In determining the requests for reassignment, the wishes of the individual teacher shall be
considered to the extent that the transfer does not conflict with the instructional
requirements and best interests of the school system as determined by the administration
and authorized by the Board.

D. Posting new assignments will be on May 1%, Teachers are required to notify
Superintendent in writing of their interest in a new assignment by May 15". On June 1%,
teachers will receive a letter which will inform them of their assignment and salary
schedule.
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Article X1V — Subseqguent Negotiations Procedure

A

B.

DEADLINE DATE

The Parties agree to enter into collective negotiations over a successor Agreement
in accordance with Chapter 123, Public Laws of 1974 in good faith effort to reach
agreement on all matters concerning the terms and conditions of employees’
employment. Such negotiations shall begin no later than October 1* of the
calendar year preceding the calendar year in which this Agreement expires. Any
Agreement so negotiated shall apply to all members of the bargaining unit, be
reduced to writing, be signed by the Board and the Association, and be adopted by
the Board.

MEETINGS

All meetings between the Parties shall be regularly scheduled whenever possible
to take place when the employees involved are free from assigned responsibilities,
unless otherwise agreed.

Article XV — Board Rights

A.

The Board, on its own behalf and on behalf of the electors of the District, hereby
retains and reserves unto itself all powers, rights, authority, duties and
responsibilities conferred upon and vested in it by the laws and the Constitution of
the State of New Jersey and of the United States.

The provisions of this Agreement shall be construed in the light of the
management prerogatives vested in the Board by foregoing legal authorities.

The Board will conduct its routine, annual discussion of staffing for the ensuing
year between October-May 15. All discussions will be conducted privately,
unless an individual requests otherwise.

Article XVI — Entire Agreement

THIS AGREEMENT incorporates the entire understanding of the Parties on all issues covered
and provided for herein, and during the term of this Agreement, neither Party shall be required to
re-negotiate concerning said issues for the period covered herein.
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IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the Parties hereto have caused this Agreement to be executed by
their duly authorized officers on the date and year aforesaid.

FOR THE BOARD

President Deborah Muscara
Paul Mastrangelo Secretary
FOR THE ASSOCIATION

Elissa Eccleston
President

24



NOTES RELATED TO SCHEDULE “A”, SCHEDULE “B” AND SCHEDULE “C”
SALARY GUIDES FOR 2009-2010-2011 AND 2011-2012

The following procedures augment the provisions of ARTICLE Il COMPENSATION and are to
be applied in determining eligibility for longevity pay and lateral movement on salary guides A,
B, and C.

1. Changes in position on the salary guide may be made up to June 30.

2. Eligibility for lateral movement on the salary guide may not be granted to undergraduate
courses even if tuition reimbursement has been granted.

3. Lateral movement on the guide shall be limited to:
a. graduate courses
b. undergraduate courses which will lead to special certification granted by the New
Jersey State Department of Education.
C. undergraduate courses taken wherever and whenever graduate courses are

unavailable within a reasonable distance

4. No one will be placed on or beyond the M.A. column unless a Masters Degree has been
earned. An equivalency will place the teacher on the BA+30 step.

5. Longevity increments shall be granted after 14, 19 and 24 years of service in the
Roseland School System. For teachers and custodians, please refer to the following chart
for the sequencing of payments:

14 yrs. 19 yrs. 24 yrs.
2009-2010 $900 $2,600 $3,600
2010-2011 $900 $2,800 $3,800
2011-2012 $900 $2,800 $4,000

For part time teachers, longevity entitlement shall be prorated on basis of salary.

6. Guide Enhancement: The following pools of money will be added to the salary guides as
follows:

e [Effective 7/1/10: $20,000 — Teachers/Custodians
o [Effective 7/1/12; $20,000 — Teachers/Custodians
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7.

The following guidelines shall apply in determining an individual’s eligibility for
longevity stipends:

a.

b.

Only time spent as a teacher in the district will count toward eligibility

If a teacher worked as a substitute for one hundred (100) days in any of
his/her years of service, such years shall be counted on a pro-rata basis
(see below) towards eligibility

All service as a teacher in the district will count toward eligibility, whether
consecutive or not, with the following exception: If an individual
voluntarily quits, but is subsequently rehired by the Board of Education,
time counting toward eligibility must occur within the following
consecutive spans:

14 years longevity within 18 years
19 years longevity within 23 years
24 years longevity within 28 years

Partial years and less than full time service will be pro-rated. Partial years
will count as fractions of years for time eligibility. Less than full time
service will be prorated by applying the fraction of the salary to the
stipend.

Once a stipend is awarded, it is locked in. A subsequent longevity step
will be calculated anew.
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ROSELAND SALARY GUIDE

2009-2010
STEP BA BA+15 BA+30 MA MA+15 MA+30
1 46,000 48,000 50,000 52,000 54,000 56,000
2 47,000 49,000 51,000 53,000 55,000 57,000
3 48,000 50,000 52,000 54,000 56,000 58,000
4 49,000 51,000 53,000 55,000 57,000 59,000
S) 50,000 52,000 54,000 56,000 58,000 60,000
6 51,000 53,000 55,000 57,000 59,000 61,000
7 52,000 54,000 56,000 58,000 60,000 62,000
8 53,000 55,000 57,000 59,000 61,000 63,000
9 54,000 56,000 58,000 60,000 62,000 64,000
10 56,000 58,000 60,000 62,000 64,000 66,000
11 58,000 60,000 62,000 64,000 66,000 68,000
12 60,000 62,000 64,000 66,000 68,000 70,000
13 62,500 64,500 66,500 68,500 70,500 72,500
14 65,500 67,500 69,500 71,500 73,500 75,500
15 69,500 71,500 73,500 75,500 77,500 79,500
16 75,500 77,500 79,500 81,500 83,500 85,500
17 81,744 83,744 85,744 87,744 89,744 91,744

ROSELAND BOARD OF EDUCATION
SCHEDULE "A" SALARY GUIDE - 2009-2010

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION - GUIDE FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
SALARIES RECOMMENDED MOTION: - That the following guide for the administration of
salaries for teachers shall become effective July 1, 2009 and shall supersede all guides previously
adopted for teachers. This guide shall be regarded as a statement of policy to be followed so far
as practicable in fixing salaries, but not as a contract. Due consideration in determining salary
progression in accordance with the guide will be based on demonstrated teaching ability,
initiative, industry and proficiency within the program area.

This salary guide format is effective July 1, 2009, and shall continue as format for any successor
agreement salary guide.
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2010-2011

STEP BA

1 46,665
2 47,665
3 48,665
4 49,665
5 50,665
6 51,665
7 52,665
8 53,665
9 54,655
10 56,665
11 58,665
12 60,665
13 63,165
14 66,165
15 70,165
16 76,165
17 83,744

ROSELAND TEACHER SALARY GUIDE

BA+15
48,665
49,665
50,665
51,665
52,665
53,665
54,665
55,665
56,665
58,665
60,665
62,665
65,165
68,165
72,165
78,165
85,744

B+30
50,655
51,665
52,665
53,665
54,665
55,665
56,665
57,665
58,665
60,665
62,665
64,665
67,165
70,165
74,165
80,165
87,744

MA
52,665
53,665
54,665
55,665
56,665
57,665
58,665
59,665
60,665
62,665
64,665
66,665
69,165
72,165
76,165
82,165
89,744

MA+15
54,665
55,665
56,665
57,665
58,665
59,665
60,665
61,665
62,655
64,665
66,665
68,665
71,165
74,165
78,165
84,165
91,744

ROSELAND BOARD OF EDUCATION

SCHEDULE "B" SALARY GUIDE - 2010- 2011

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION -

initiative, industry and proficiency within the program area.

This salary guide format is effective July 1, 2009, and shall continue as format for any successor

agreement salary guide.

28

MA+30
56,665
57,665
58,665
59,665
60,665
61,665
62,665
63,665
64,665
66,665
68,665
70,665
73,165
76,165
80,165
86,165
93,744

GUIDE FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
SALARIES RECOMMENDED MOTION: - That the following guide for the administration of
salaries for teachers shall become effective July 1, 2009 and shall supersede all guides previously
adopted for teachers. This guide shall be regarded as a statement of policy to be followed so far
as practicable in fixing salaries, but not as a contract. Due consideration in determining salary
progression in accordance with the guide will be based on demonstrated teaching ability,



2011-2012
STEP BA

1 47,410
2 48,410
3 49,410
4 50,410
5 51,410
6 52,410
7 53,410
8 54,410
9 55410
10 57,410
11 59,410
12 61,410
13 63,910
14 66,910
15 70,910
16 76,910
17 85,744

ADMINISTRATIVE REGULATION - GUIDE FOR THE ADMINISTRATION OF
SALARIES, RECOMMENDED MOTION: - That the following guide for the administration of
salaries for teachers shall become effective July 1, 2009 and shall supersede all guides previously
adopted for teachers. This guide shall be regarded as a statement of policy to be followed so far
as practicable in fixing salaries, but not as a contract. Due consideration in determining salary
progression in accordance with the guide will be based on demonstrated teaching ability,

ROSELAND TEACHER SALARY GUIDE

BA+15
49,410
50,410
51,410
52,410
53,410
54,410
55,410
56,410
57,410
59,410
61,410
63,410
65,910
68,910
72,910
78,910
87,744

BA+30
51,410
52,410
53,410
54,410
55,410
56,410
57,410
58,410
59,410
61,410
63,410
65,410
67,910
70,910
74,910
80,910
89,744

MA

53,410
54,410
55,410
56,410
57,410
58,410
59,410
60,410
61,410
63,310
65,410
67,410
69,910
72,910
76,910
82,910
91,744

MA+15
55,410
56,410
57,410
58,410
59,410
60,410
61,410
62,410
63,410
65,410
67,410
69,410
71,910
74,910
78,910
84,910
93,744

ROSELAND BOARD OF EDUCATION

SCHEDULE "C" SALARY GUIDE - 2011-2012

initiative, industry and proficiency within the program area.

This salary guide format is effective July 1, 2009, and shall continue as format for any successor

agreement salary guide.
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MA+30
57,410
58,410
59,410
60,410
61,410
62,410
63,410
64,410
65,410
67,410
69,410
71,410
73,910
76,910
80,910
86,910
95,744



