DEMAREST CUSTODIAL ASSOCIATION

JULY 1, 2020 TO JUNE 30, 2023



RECOGNITION

A. The Board recognizes the Association as the exclusive collective bargaining representation of all
members of the custodial staff.

B. Whenever the word “employee” is used in this Agreement, it shall be deemed to mean the
employees in the bargaining unit covered by this Agreement, as defined in Paragraph A above.

C. Whenever the work “part-time employee” is used in this Agreement, it shall be deemed to mean any
employee in the bargaining unit covered by this Agreement, as defined in Paragraph A above.

POWERS OF THE BOARD OF EDUCATION AND ITS SUPERINTENDENT OF SCHOOLS

Except as explicitly limited by a specific provision of this Agreement and L. 1968, c. 303, as
amended and supplemented, the Board, acting directly or through superintendent of schools, shall
continue to have the exclusive right to take any action it deems appropriate in the Superintendence
management and control of the educational affairs of the school district, and to this end it hereby
reserves to itself all powers, functions, and prerogatives granted expressly or by implication, or
reasonably necessary to discharge the duties imposed by the statutes of the State of New Jersey.

The Board’s failure to exercise any function hereby reserved to it, or its exercise of any function in
a particular way shall not be deemed a waiver of its right to exercise such function or preclude the
Board from exercising the same in some other way not in direct conflict with the express provisions
of this Agreement and L. 1968, c. 303, as amended and supplemented.

ARTICLE I

INSURANCE PROTECTION AND PHYSICAL EXAMINATIONS

A. Custodians regularly employed 30 hours weekly are eligible for paid Health Benefits
including Dental coverage, for their immediate family after the 60 day probationary period.

B. The Board shall provide insurance protection for individual employees covered by
this Agreement and their families, including civil union partners in accordance with New
Jersey Law, under the New Jersey State Health Benefits Program. Employees shall
contribute to his/her medical coverage in accordance with the Tier IV rate set forth in Ch.
78, P.L. 2011.

B! The Board shall pay in full, per annum for current staff members, in each year of this
Agreement towards the premiums for dental insurance covering the existing staff.

D. By law, N.J.S.A 18A:16-3, the Board shall pay up to $125 of any physical examination
performed by a doctor selected by the Board. The employee has the right to select his/her
own doctor in which case the employee is responsible for the cost of the examination.

E. As Chapter 78 relief, one (1) of the two (2) monthly health insurance deductions will not be
withheld from the employees’ payroll during the month of June.



ARTICLE II

SICK LEAVE

A. Full time Custodians shall be allowed twelve (12) days for personal illness in a school year on a
prorated basis. Personal illness leave not utilized by a Custodian in any one year shall be
accumulated and may be used for personal illness in subsequent years so long as the Custodian
continues employment in the school district.

Custodians who, after serving ten (10) years of continuous service in the Demarest School District,
and actually retire from the Public Employment Retirement System, shall receive moneys for each
day of sick leave which they have accumulated but have not used as per the following schedule:
$25.00 per day - 1-50 accumulated days
$30.00 per day -  51-100 accumulated days
$35.00 per day - 100-150 accumulated days
Days accumulated in excess of 150 days have no dollar value upon retirement.

ARTICLE III

PERSONAL LEAVE

A. Custodians will be granted three (3) personal days annually, following their probationary
period. Personal days will be prorated based on the employee’s status. All unused personal
days shall be accumulated as unused sick leave from year to year.

ARTICLE IV
JURY DUTY
A. An employee called for jury duty will be excused from work for the period actually in

attendance in court and he/she will be paid the difference between jury duty fees received
and his/her regular daily earnings for such time as he/she is required to be in attendance in

court.
ARTICLE V
BEREAVEMENT LEAVE
A. When a death occurs in an employee’s immediate family (husband, wife, children, mother,

father, as well as brothers or sisters and civil union partners in accordance with New Jersey
Law), the employee shall be allowed five (5) days absence without loss of pay.

B. When the death of an employee’s mother-in-law, father-in-law, sister-in-law, brother-in-law,
son-in-law, daughter —in-law immediate grandparent or grandchild, the employee shall be
allowed three (3) days’ absence without loss of pay.



When the death of a relative outside the immediate family of an employee occurs, the
employee shall be allowed one (1) days’ absence without loss of pay.

ARTICLE VI

PREMIUM PAY

All work performed in excess of forty (40) hours in a calendar week shall be paid for at one
and one-half (1 '2) times the regular rate of pay. Sick leave shall not count as hours
worked for overtime purposes.

All work performed on Saturday shall be paid for at one and one-half (1 '2) times the regular
rate of pay beyond forty (40) hours.

All work performed on Sunday shall be paid at two (2) times the regular rate of pay beyond
forty (40) hours.

For any emergent overtime call, employee shall be guaranteed a minimum of two (2) hours
compensation, where such time is not contiguous to regular scheduled work hours.
ARTICLE VII

HOURS OF WORK

The full time work day will consist of eight hours per day and an additional unpaid one-half
(1/2) hour for lunch.

ARTICLE VIII
HOLIDAYS
Custodians shall not be required to work on the following holidays, if school is not in

session. If school is in session on one of these holidays, the Custodian shall report to work,
but shall be given a compensatory day as approved by the immediate supervisor.

New Year’s Day Martin Luther King Day
Washington’s Birthday Good Friday

Memorial Day Independence Day
Labor Day Columbus Day
Veteran’s Day Thanksgiving Day
Thanksgiving Friday Christmas Eve
Christmas Day New Year’s Eve



A holiday falling on a Saturday or a Sunday shall be observed on the prior Friday or
following Monday if school is not in session, as determined by the Chief School
Administrator.

In the event a holiday(s) cannot be taken because school is in session, an equal number of
substituted holidays, in In-Lieu Day, shall be granted to the employee.

ARTICLE IX

VACATIONS

A, Custodians employed 12 full months prior to July 1 shall receive ten (10) days vacation if,
on that date, a Custodian has been employed less that 12 full months, but more than the 60
day probation period, the vacation will be prorated. Vacation time shall not be accrued
during the provisional time. Custodians with at least five (5) years of continuous '
employment shall receive fifteen (15) vacation days. Custodians with at least ten (10) years
of continuous employment shall receive twenty (20) vacation days. Vacation Day requests
must be submitted in advance and approved by the immediate supervisor and the Chief
School Administrator. Every effort should be made to utilize vacation days when school is
not in session.

B. For seniority to prevail, vacations shall be selected and scheduled by May 15 of each year.

C. Employees are required to use all of his/her annual accrued vacation leave each year and will
only be permitted to carry over vacation leave into the subsequent year, with the
Superintendent’s prior approval, if the vacation leave could not be used due to business

necessity. An employee may carry up to five (5) days before September 1%, following the year of
accrual.

ARTICLE X

UNIFORMS - PROTECTIVE CLLOTHING

A. The Board will pay up to $400 annually to provide a Custodian with a uniform. New
employees will be allocated up to $450 in their first year to purchase necessary uniforms,
after their probationary period. Purchase amount is prorated for part time employees. Said
uniforms remain the property of the Board and are maintained by the Custodian. 1.D.
badges will be worn in lieu of names sewn on uniforms.



ARTICLE XI

CUSTODIAL SALARY SCHEDULE

STEP 2020-2021 2021-2022 2022-2023

1 40,000

1 37,950 2 40,254

1 36,667 2 38,295 3 40,762
2 37,000 3 38,965 4 40,981
3 37,918 4 39,461 5 41,125
4 38,312 5 39,653 6 41,220
5 38,981 6 40,150 7 41,685
6 40,067 z 42,216 8 43,262
7 40,788 8 42,450 9 43,597
8 41,542 9 42,700 10 43,695
9 41,632 10 42,889 11 43,740
10 42,381 fid 43,500 12 44,642
11 44,041 12 46,707 13 47,174
1% 45,128 13 47,282 14 47,755
13 45,683 14 48,918 15 49,407
14 47,264 15 50,448 16 51,952
15 48,742 16 52,037 17 53,373
16 50,277 17 52,872 17 53,373
17 52,373 17 52,872 17 53,373
17 52,373 5z 52,872 17 53,373



MAINTENANCE SALARY SCHEDULE

2020-2021 2021-2022 2022-2023

1 44,000

1 41,950 2 44,254

1 40,667 2 42,295 3 44,762
2 41,000 3 42,965 4 44,981
3 41,918 4 43,461 5 45,125
4 42,312 5 43,653 6 45,220
5 42,981 6 44,150 7 45,685
6 44,067 7 46,216 8 47,262
7 44,788 8 46,450 9 47,597
8 45,542 9 46,700 10 47,695
9 45,632 10 46,889 11 47,740
10 46,381 11 47,500 12 48,642
11 49,041 12 50,707 13 51,174
12 49,128 13 51,282 14 51,755
13 49,683 14 52,918 15 53,407
14 51,264 15 54,448 16 55,952
15 52,742 16 56,037 17 57,373
16 54,277 17 56,872 17 58,373
17 56,373 17 56,872 17 57,373
17 56,373 17 56,872 17 57,373

Custodians and maintenance employed prior to December 31 in a school year will move vertically up one
step on the next year pay scale. Custodians employed after January 1 in a school year will move
horizontally and remain on the same step.

ARTICLE XII

REQUIREMENT - CDL - S

All custodians covered by this agreement must acquire a CDL-S Endorsement School Bus License if your
assignment is a day shift (normally between the hours of 7:00 A.M —4:00 P.M.) at any school. Failure to
secure the required CDL-S Endorsement School Bus License prior to September 1% annually, said
custodians will be placed on an alternate shift and/or building, based on the school district needs and
administration recommendation.



ARTICLE XIII

STIPENDS

Black Seal License $1,500 per person
CDL S endorsement $1,500 per person
Longevity after year 4 $1,000 per person
Longevity after year 10 $1,000 per person
Night Differential $1,250 per person
Bus Driver-after school event  $100 per event
Custodian in Charge $8,000 per district

ARTICLE XIV

GRIEVANCE PROCEDURE

A. DEFINITIONS
L: A grievance is a claim by an employee, or the Association, based upon the interpretation,

application, or violation of this Agreement, Board Policy, or administrative decision,
affecting terms and conditions of employment.

2, An “aggrieved person” is the person, persons, or the Association making the claim.

A, “Association” means the D.C.A. or a committee designated by the D.C.A.

B. PROCEDURE

1. All grievances of employees shall be taken up in accordance with the following procedures:

FIRST STEP: The aggrieved person and/or his/her representative shall give written
notification to the immediate supervisor within ten (10) work days after cause of complaint
arises. The immediate supervisor shall give his/her written answer in the FIRST STEP.

SECOND STEP: If no satisfactory settlement is reached in the in the FIRST STEP,

the aggrieved person shall parent the grievance to the superintendent in writing within five
(5) work days after the immediate supervisor shall have given his/her written answer in the
FIRST STEP.

Within ten (10) work days after the presentation of such grievance, the superintendent or a
designee shall meet with the aggrieved person or a designee for the purpose of discussing



the matter and disposing of it in a mutually satisfactory manner. The superintendent or a
designee shall render a written decision within five (5) work days after such meeting.

THIRD STEP: If no satisfactory settlement is reached in the SECOND STEP, the aggrieved
person may, within ten (10) work days after the receipt of the answer at the SECOND STEP,
request in writing a formal hearing before the Board which shall be held within thirty (30)
days thereafter. The Board shall render a written decision setting forth its findings and
conclusion within thirty days (30) after the hearing is concluded.

FOURTH STEP: In the event the grievance, to the extent that it pertains to an

interpretation, application, or violation of the terms of the Agreement, shall not have been
resolved in the foregoing steps, the Association shall have the right to request the Public
Employment Relations Commission, to furnish one arbitrator to consider the grievance and
render findings, which said findings shall be binding upon the parties. The rules of PERC
shall apply.

Such request for arbitration shall be made within ten (10) work days after the receipt of the
Board’s written decision under the THIRD STEP and a copy of said request shall be filed
with the superintendent.

The arbitrator shall bill the Association and the Board separately for one-half (1/2) of the
costs of his/her services.

A non-tenured custodian shall not be permitted to arbitrate a grievance challenging his/her
non-renewal.

LIMITATIONS

Any disposition of a grievance from which no appeal is taken within the time limits
specified in Paragraph B (1) above shall be deemed resolved and shall not thereafter be
subject to the grievance provisions of this Agreement.

RIGHTS OF MEMBERS

Any aggrieved person may be represented at all stages of the grievance procedure by
himself/herself or a representative of his/her choice. When a member is not represented by
the Association, the Association may be present and state its view.

When submitting the grievance to the administrator or Board at any of the steps, the member
or Association shall given written notification designating the representative(s).

No reprisals shall be taken against any aggrieved persons, their representatives, or other
participants, by reason of participation in the grievance procedure.

GRIEVANCE FILE

All documents, communication, records, etc., dealing with a specific grievance shall be
stored in a separate grievance file in the superintendent’s office and not in the personnel file
of the participants.



ARTICLE XV

SAVINGS CLAUSE

If, during the term of this employment agreement, it is found that a specific clause of this
employment agreement is contrary to federal or state law, the remainder of the employment
agreement not affected by such ruling shall remain in full source and effect. The parties
hereto represent to each other that they remain in full force and effect. The parties hereto
represent to each other that they fully understand the terms and conditions of this
employment agreement, and agree to be bound by same pursuant to the rules and regulations
of the Department of Education and the laws of the State of New Jersey.

ARTICLE XVI

MODIFICATION CLAUSE

The terms and conditions of this employment agreement shall not be modified except by the
written consent of both parties. Any amendments to the Employment Agreement shall not
create a new agreement or agreement term but shall only constitute an amendment to the

existing employment contract.
ARTICLE XVII

TERMINATION CLAUSE

In the event an Employee intends to terminate his/her employment with the Board or the
Board desires to terminate the employment an employee, each may do so for any reason or
for no reason. The party desiring to do so shall provide at least thirty (30) calendar days
notice to the other of such party’s intent to terminate employment.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, the parties have hereunto set forth their hands and seals or caused this

agreement to be signed by their corporate officers and their proper corporate seals to be hereto affixed

thejdaypand year first written above.
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Witness

Wltm;ss T Perez, SBA/Bd Secretary
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